Six Steps to the Joy of Nowness


Accreditation: HPCSA CPD Accredited – 6 CEUs (Level 1).

Author: Dr Mariki Smith

Share the Beautiful

Suggested professions in this regard are Occupational Therapists and Social Workers. The course is experiential with enough supporting theory and resources to assist you to live mindfully at home and at work. The primary focus of this course is mindful self-care of therapists. You will be able to practice these exercises and frame of reference in your private life, as well as in your practice. It is not focused on teaching you to become a mindfulness teacher.

Why Take This Course?

In times of great change and uncertainty:

  • Would you like to discover the joy of accepting every moment, whether you consider it as pleasant or unpleasant?
  • Would you like to face moments of change and uncertainty, and other stressful moments, without seeing it as “bad for you”?
  • Would you like to know what your own unique “being mindful” may look like?
  • Would you like to experience new self-knowledge, self-care and self-compassion on your life’s journey?
  • Would you like to learn to make allowance for others in your life?
  • Would you like to make small changes in your daily life to create a big difference in your well-being and resilience?

Saki Santorelli, director of the Mindfulness Stress Reduction Clinic at Massachusetts Medical School puts it, daily mindfulness practice is asking us to cease the “tiring game of hiding from ourselves, or disowning large parts of ourselves in a futile attempt to appear whole, competent, caring. Each time we intentionally slow down or stop in the midst of a busy day, whether alone or in the presence of another, it is an act of remembrance of our fundamental capacity to be with, to let go, to open to the mystery and joy of or lives just as they are.”

How Can We Help?